Writer’s Block: When the going gets tough…

I listen to a lot of music while suffering through writer’s block.  Here are a few of my favorite songs to help you get through difficult times as you try to write or edit.  Hope these help.  Enjoy! 🙂

Modest Mouse Float On

I backed my car into a cop car the other day.
Well he just drove off, sometimes life’s OK.
I ran my mouth off a bit too much, oh what did I say?
Well you just laughed it off, it was all OK.

And we’ll all float on OK. And we’ll all float on OK.
And we’ll all float on OK. And we’ll all float on anyway.

Well, a fake Jamaican took every last dime with that scam.
It was worth it just to learn some sleight of hand.
Bad news comes, don’t you worry even when it lands.
Good news will work its way to all them plans.
We both got fired on exactly the same day.
Well we’ll float on, good news is on the way.

And we’ll all float on OK. And we’ll all float on OK.
And we’ll all float on OK. And we’ll all float on.
Alright already, we’ll all float on.
No don’t you worry. We’ll all float on.
Alright, already. We’ll all float on.
Alright, don’t worry. We’ll all float on.

And we’ll all float on.
Alright already, we’ll all float on.
Alright, don’t worry even if things end up a bit too heavy.
We’ll all float on.

Alright already, we’ll all float on.
Alright already, we’ll all float on OK.
Don’t worry, we’ll all float on.
Even if things get heavy, we’ll all float on.
Alright already, we’ll all float on alright.
Don’t you worry, we’ll all float on.
We’ll all float on.

Sometimes I’ll listen to a few depressing songs, but these two are beautiful here.

Riverside – Left Out

Huddled in the corner
Disillusioned
My lifeless stare is fixed
On your silhouettes
You’re disregarding me
Passing me by
Like I’m not even here
Maybe I’m not
Maybe I’m somewhere else

I used to be one of you
With the same spark in my eyes
And now I don’t belong to this place
It’s a matter of merciless time
I wholly vanish

The candle guttered out
The beauty elapsed
Could’ve been so wonderful

One day we could’ve met
And believed
We might live that way
Far away from the din
Envious looks
And chase for the prize
We would have remained ourselves
Without killing our feelings
Slowly
Day by day

One day we could’ve won
Without taking away
Someone else’s pride
We would have become strong
Walking through our life side by side

We could’ve missed another day
Not knowing how to talk
Where to go
We could’ve missed another night
Only… For what?

The dream went away
And you came
With your dark hair loose
Ruthless cold reality
Oh, how I hate your truth
Don’t turn your back this time
Just look at my eyes
I won’t break down
I’m going to fight

The Verve- Bitter Sweet Symphony

‘Cause it’s a bittersweet symphony, this life
Try to make ends meet
You’re a slave to money then you die
I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down
You know the one that takes you to the places
where all the veins meet yeah,

No change, I can’t change
I can’t change, I can’t change
But I’m here in my mold
I am here in my mold
But I’m a million different people
from one day to the next
I can’t change my mold
No, no, no, no, no

Well I never pray
But tonight I’m on my knees yeah
I need to hear some sounds that recognize the pain in me, yeah
I let the melody shine, let it cleanse my mind, I feel free now
But the airways are clean and there’s nobody singing to me now

No change, I can’t change
I can’t change, I can’t change
But I’m here in my mold
I am here in my mold
And I’m a million different people
from one day to the next
I can’t change my mold
No, no, no, no, no
I can’t change
I can’t change

‘Cause it’s a bittersweet symphony, this life
Try to make ends meet
Try to find some money then you die
I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down
You know the one that takes you to the places
where all the things meet yeah

You know I can’t change, I can’t change
I can’t change, I can’t change
But I’m here in my mold
I am here in my mold
And I’m a million different people
from one day to the next
I can’t change my mold
No, no, no, no, no

I can’t change my mold
no, no, no, no, no,
I can’t change
Can’t change my body,
no, no, no

I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down
I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down
Been down
Ever been down
Ever been down
Ever been down
Ever been down
Have you ever been down?
Have you’ve ever been down?

Leave a Reply

