New Update: Slowly Getting There…

This was me 2 days ago when I read the revisions of my manuscript on Sunday.

This was my sister on the other line of the phone, cheering me on.

And this is me when I listened to what she had to say.

This was me waiting for the season 2 premiere of the new Walking Dead episode.

Me after seeing Rick become a man and finally kick some ass for once! 

And then, me after the show, editing my novel until 5 to 6 a.m.

Me on Monday morning getting up and doing it all over again.

And finally, this will be me tonight…

This is just a quick update to let you guys know that I have gone over the revisions and made the changes I needed to make. But first let me tell you, that the Walking Dead is awesome. I love that show! I so can’t wait to see next week’s episode. It’s going to be insane.

They’re now doing a sweepstakes where you enter a code every week to see if you can win a trip to LA to be on the set of the show. I entered in the contest. Of course, there’s a one out of a million chances that anyone could win, but I decided to go for it anyway. Why not? I’ve got nothing else to lose.

Anyway, I’m just taking this editing thing one day at a time. I had my computer read out loud half of the manuscript last night and the rest of it today, almost 2 days. I just sat down at my bed, put on my headphones, and just let it read it to me. I did find some tiny mistakes, but not as much as I expected. Overall, even though I hated it and was killing myself on Sunday/Monday… the sentences are actually flowing well. The dialogue is tight!  It can be creepy and even pretty emotional at times. I have the voice of my character down to the bone!

Not to mention, my editor did have some good things to say and I remembered going over certain sections that she actually liked. In the paperback book, I did add a drawing that nicoy drew for me. It actually looks amazing, even though it’s black and white. The book reads well to me, despite the fact that the ending is not complete. How many times am I going to say that? The first book is like the introduction to what is going on and it may not be all that scary. I’ve given up on the fact that I won’t be able to please everyone and fix every mistake in the book.  It’s just not possible, but I’m slowly beginning to love it.  After the few little fixes and so on this week, next week I will go ahead and start ordering the proofs.

I’m very excited to see how my book will look printed out finally. My biggest concern is how everything will look once it’s completed. I’ll need to check and make sure my title, book cover, text/interior, and drawing come out readable. I’m just praying that everything will look decent once it’s printed out. Please Createspace, please have very good printers.  I don’t see myself printing out 10 proof copies in order to get this right… 😐

9 thoughts on “New Update: Slowly Getting There…

    • Thanks hon! 😀 I don’t really have any fancy programs. I just use MS Word 2008 for my mac, which has speech options. I also have final draft where you can assign characters different voices, but it only works in the script format though. Hope that helps! :3

      • Having the computer read it out loud actually helps me to find more mistakes that I wouldn’t have found on my own. It’s the best way to hear your words spoken.

        Most people will tell you to read it out loud to yourself, but my voice fades after so much reading and my computer doesn’t fade no matter what the word count. 🙂

    • Final draft costs about $150-$200 dollars. It’s usually for a Mac, since Apple sells most of them, but they might have some for PC… I’m not sure. You would have to research that. However, MS Word has both PC/Mac versions and costs about $100 bucks and you can find that at any Best Buy or software/computer store.

    • Actually, if you buy the new final draft it’s $299. 😦 I’d say buy an older or used new version (they all do the same thing actually), but they are cheaper. Just look around and I’m sure you’ll find some affordable ones without hurting your wallet. 😀

Leave a Reply

