The Real World…Still Need To Find a Real Job!

What a really busy day!  Went to the DMV early this morning and even before the place was opened, the line was already very long.  Good thing it didn’t take forever, but I was still there for at least an hour and a half.  I nearly spent $400 bucks or more for a new FL license plate for my car.  Luckily, that didn’t happen!  Thank you God!  But I still can’t believe the prices of getting a FL plate has dramatically increased. It’s insane!

It’s just crazy.  Instead, I paid half, just $207 and the woman gave me everything right then and there.  And all it took was ten minutes waiting time and an additional signature.  I got my new Driver’s License and new plates all on the same day.  Whoohoo!  I don’t think I would’ve wanted to wait another week or two, for the plates to arrive in the mail, after that experience.

Even before that, I had to show so many documents and paperwork.  It’s getting kind of ridiculous the amount of paperwork I need to show them just to prove who I am.  California wasn’t so strict, but then again, they may end up changing it if identity thief is such a growing problem nowadays.

Then, after the DMV office, I had to go to the post office and sign up for the P.O. box.  Let’s just say filling out that paperwork was just as complicated.  First of all, I think they need to have simpler instructions.  I’m reading the thing and I’m still confused after having read it.  Just figuring out where to sign is confusing, and apparently you need to show them two proofs of ID.

This is the first time I’ve had a P.O. box before, so I don’t know all the rules, but I think they’ve changed up a few things.  Let me tell you, it’s still quite expensive.  I paid like $43 bucks for a certain size and it’s double that for a whole year…grant it, it’s not very big to hold anything, but still.  I’ll only have it for at least six months.

I will be shipping out my signed book copy to a friend of mine tomorrow.  He’ll be so happy when he hears about the good news.  Yay! 😀  And now that I’ve got my new DL and plates, I’ll be looking for a job once again… Boo! D: I’m kidding!  I won’t be spending this whole month relaxing, that’s for sure.  It’ll be interesting going back on the job hunt, since I’ve been out now for almost a year.  However, in Cali I was still job hunting even when I didn’t have much.  Although, it didn’t go according to plan even after just 3 job interviews.

I’m still young enough…I hope.  I can work hard!  Working hard is my middle name.  I don’t want to end up where I last started, so I’m a bit worried myself.  Don’t get me wrong, I do love working and I do need the money, so I can save up and all for a rainy day…but at what price will it cost me?  I could also get more film gear as well with an income coming in, which isn’t too bad.

It’s just that some of my friends already have their dreams jobs and I’m…well, out of luck.  I’ll try to think positive and hopefully, I’ll have enough time to work on my fantasy novel too.  I want to find a good job that won’t take advantage of me, like I’m nothing but a number or a slave…or drain me of so much energy that I can’t do anything else on my days off.  No more depressing jobs!  I want to find a job that’s right for me, where I can feel happy about what I’m doing.  That’s asking so much, right?  Well, I better start looking and I better start early.  I certainly don’t want to waste anymore time.

After I get back my tax return, I’ll be making a list and checking it twice.  And no, it’s not what you’re thinking.  I’ll see if I have enough leftovers to actually buy my film gear and software.  Once I buy what I need, I’ll be completely broke.  Yep!  I will not have a dime left.  Zip.  Zero.  Nada.  So, looking forward to that.  It’s getting better and better everyday I think about it.  And yes.  That’s the bright side of life, folks!

That last part was called sarcasm…

Leave a Reply

