Editing Pains: The Ups and Downs!

Apparently, I got banned from a site and I have no idea why. Is it just bad luck, mistaken identity, server problems, etc? I really don’t have a clue.

And I nearly died of starvation, because I haven’t eaten for nearly two and a half days. Luckily, I got something to eat and I’m recovering from the ordeal. Hunger pains hurt a lot – not going through that again!  Need to remember to eat lots of snacks while writing/editing!

Anyhoo, I’m making another list of words I so need to avoid (or use sparingly) when it comes down to my sequel. I had made a list for my first novel as well, but I still believe I may have missed a few words. For the first book, I was fortunate that the damage is not so serious or life threatening. Won’t be going back to #1 until it has been out for like 5-10 years. However, I don’t want to see the same mistakes passed on to the sequel. No more stupid mistakes! I will be taking repetition a lot more serious as the editing continues. Finished chapters 9 & 10 today, which is good. Part I is almost done. Still have 11-13 though.

I don’t have a horrible problem with repeating myself, like some other writers do. Although I have been very careful… it can and will still happen regardless of how much time I spend on it. I’ve slipped up now and then, even after I hired two editors. This is all part of life and the learning experience of editing your own work. Self-publishing is no joke.

I do not want a repeat of last time, like I did with the first book, putting it down and bringing it back again. Despite the second time, I had no choice due to the book cover messing up. Even now, I still see mistakes in the first novel. Ugh…I’m so not going there! No writer will ever get away from saying certain words and phrases. Some writers have a favorite line or a favorite type of character they tend to reuse, over and over again. However, I’m making a conscious effort to keep it in check as of now. I’ll be keeping an extra eye on recurring lines, situations, and so on. Started fixing some of my Oops! as of today.

But if I don’t keep it in check I will tend to miss things. When I ramble that’s when I seem to make the most mistakes apparently. The sequel is getting longer due to filling in gaps between chapters that seem too short, in my opinion. There’s a lot of different scenes/timelines compared to the first novel. I may end up having to trim half of it again or reorganize some scenes, so it’s not so jarring or confusing. It’s still a linear timeline… It’s about 470 pages.

I hate talking about the price of a book, but the truth of the matter is this is reality. The more my paperback book grows, the higher I need to bring up the price. I’m probably just shooting myself in the foot, I know. I’m not ready to discuss the price until I’m ready to publish…that will take some time. For those waiting for the sequel to come out, please be patient. When the time is right I will calculate a reasonable price and the royalties. I know for a fact that I don’t want to be making less royalties than book #1, because what would be the point?  The kindle ebook for the sequel will remain at the fixed price of the first novel $2.99. That will never change at all.

Despite my efforts, even though I use a thesaurus, I still find that I keep repeating myself. I’m a bad bad girl. The only good news is reading reviews from a particular book have helped me to spot what I should never do in the near future. Hopefully, this works. If I can learn from another writer’s mistakes, it’s so worth it.

LIST OF WORDS & PHRASES I NEED TO BE CAREFUL OF:

  1. Murmur (murmured/murmuring) – I need to be careful of overusing this, especially the word mumbling.
  2. Whisper (whispered) – yes, I use this too much and it needs to stop.
  3. Said – sometimes I have no other choice, but I’m limiting this too.
  4. Bit my lip – luckily, I hardly use this one. This was added from a popular book…
  5. Roll (rolling or rolled) my/his/her eyes – I don’t have this phrase at all in my sequel, but my first novel has quite a few. Not overbearing, more like a pinch of salt.
  6. Like – mostly used for metaphors, but it’s getting annoying. Like totally!
  7. tilted his/her/my head – I think I have just about 7 in my first novel and 5 in the sequel, which isn’t bad. Thank God I don’t use “Cock his/her/my head!”  This is also new…
  8. Sprinted – I use this word not that much, but it can pop up more than once in a few chapters. I do replace it with either dash, run, or jog.
  9. Walk/Walked/Walking – I use pace, amble, hike, and so on…but I always go back to it.
  10. Water – I’ll find myself overusing this for some reason. Real basic stuff.
  11. Door – I can’t help it, but I try to use entrance, doorway, opening, and so on. Door is just such a simple word and is so basic…I just use it.
  12. Window – if someone can help me find another word for window (without it sounding corny or cheesy) that’ll be great. Don’t really like the ones I’m seeing on Thesaurus.com…
  13. Asked – It’s going to be a long day. 😐 Sometimes I use “questioned” but it’s rare.
  14. Stated/Explained/Clarified – This is the opposite, in fact. I probably should use more of these, since I’m sick of overusing “said.”
  15. A bit/A lot – Don’t know why, but it’s a common phrase.
  16. Too much/many/ much more – another bad habit.
  17. Just – One of my favorite bad words. Just about anything I’ll add a “just” for no reason whatsoever.
  18. Very – I’ve been trying really hard to avoid this one. Only in dialogue is it allowed.
  19. Before my eyes – So bad, I could die.
  20. Never in my life had I – Oh god! Kill me now.
  21. However/Also – I’m just noticing this now…
  22. Which/that – What can I tell ya?
  23. Would’ve/could’ve/should’ve – I’ll let you decide. 😐

Anyway, I’ll see how this list goes and whether or not I need to add anything else. I need to make sure this sequel is better than the first. I seriously need to get some rest…won’t be staying up tonight editing/rewriting till the crack of dawn.

3 thoughts on “Editing Pains: The Ups and Downs!

  1. Good lord! How are you going to write?;-)
    No…I understand. As for pricing-that’s a toughie for the paperback versions. I had wanted to reduce the price of my book on createspace, and I did, but not as much as I had hoped. I had to keep it at $12.95 in order to keep it in all the available outlets–unless I wanted to owe Amazon money on some sales! And, my book is only a little over 300 pages. If yours is nearing 500, hmmm. Anyway, enjoyed your post.

    • Haha! I know…I’ll manage somehow. 😀 I just really care about the quality of my books and I’m such a perfectionist. I know it won’t be 100% perfect, but I’m willing to work hard and long to make sure it’s at the best quality, since it’ll be up against regular books in the market.

      It is tough making decisions about a book’s price. If I had a mass paperback book made by one of the big five book publishers the price would be so much lower. At least the first book is not at a bad price. I’ll probably change and fix the sequel’s interior. Make it look a bit more professional. So, in the end the book will be worth the cost.

      And thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed my post. At least I know that someone out there reads them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

