Too Young To Read Adult Books? That Is The Question…

Someone who is underage has told me that they will buy and read my book, which is clearly labeled adult.

So, I’ve told them not to contact me anymore, because I really don’t feel comfortable talking to children under the age of 18 about adult topics…which are discussed in my book.

Um…I don’t know what else to say really. If this person was 18 and up, I’d be thrilled and happy that they are going to read my book. However, since this person isn’t mature enough, in my opinion, I want nothing to do with them. I know that I cannot be held responsible, and I’ve given them plenty of warnings. Also, there’s that disclaimer I placed in the book and ebook. Once they open it, they can always read that… It was an interesting debate tonight in one of my favorite chatrooms, which I often visit. We talked about how young is too young to be reading adult books. Some people agreed with me and others not so much, saying “kids will buy anything and you shouldn’t stop them!”

I know that I have no control over who buys my book. I know that! Even though I’m the author, I cannot force anyone to not buy my book, despite all my best intentions or wishes. I know I shouldn’t feel horrible, but I can’t help but feel somewhat concerned about the person’s mentality. Maybe they’re mature enough…maybe not. My book is kind of scary and young kids can be traumatized for it does have horror elements to it. It’s a psychological thriller with adult language and situations. The book was never intended for children in the first place.

So, how young is too young to be reading adult books? 11, 13, 16, 17 years old? I really don’t know why this person is in a rush to read my book, it’s not like it’s going anywhere. Someone did mention to me that when a disclaimer is on a book, a CD, or a video game, kids seem drawn to it. Maybe some of them feel that nothing can frighten them away or disturb them. Putting a disclaimer can be like saying to kids, “Go ahead and play/read/watch me. I dare ya!”  But I really don’t have a clue.

If they can wait a few more months or years, I’d feel so much better. However, I’m not going to lose any sleep over it. When I was younger, my parents were strict in my upbringing. They always monitored who I was with, what I watched, ate, and read. I really don’t know how parents are raising their kids these days. All I know is that my books aren’t in the normal bookstores and can only be purchased online through amazon, kindle, and createspace with a credit or debit card. My ebook isn’t expensive, but it’s high enough at $2.99. Should I raise the price up some more to prevent kids from buying it? Certainly not.

Anyway, that’s just my two cents on it…

Leave a Reply

