Jobs, Hot Button Issues & The Walking Dead…

I Am A Woman! Hear Me Roar!

Every day, little by little I’m reminded about the atrocities against women. Folks, it looks like I’m leaning more towards feminism… 

If you’re wondering how this came to be, trust me when I say this, but my writing/stories will not change drastically. I’ll probably add more strong female characters in the near future, but don’t expect me to go preaching about every issue on this blog now. I have enough problems keeping it updated as it is. I probably lost a few people along the way, but that’s okay. I believe that was before the whole “feminism topic” popped into my head. Some people think feminism is all evil. That’s fine if you do. You’re entitled to your opinions. I think it’s often misunderstood.

At first, I never really believed that I was a feminist. Maybe deep down inside I was a little interested in the idea ever since I took Humanities 101. I’ve been reading and watching certain topics on the matter of feminism and it seems like a hot button issue to discuss. I don’t know why. I thought America was over this issue by now, but apparently not. I’m seeing a trend lately, but I believe that’s nothing new really. Minorities and women don’t seem to have a lot of the same rights. It’s sad to see this happening in the 21st Century (is it still the 21st Century?), a time when everyone is so mixed and we have such advanced technology. There is no one pure race! That’s a ridiculous notion. Yeah, we have a black President, but have things really changed that much?

The economy sucks right now. Budget cuts are everywhere, even the Pentagon is having trouble keeping up. Hardly any jobs to go around––about six million people or more are out of work while about 10 million or so have no healthcare. Please, don’t check me on the facts, I’m just going from what I’ve heard and read on the local news. I have a feeling that Deja vu is coming back to me––history loves to repeat itself, doesn’t it? I love saying that for some reason.

Maybe someday… once I save up enough money to publish more books, my stories will enlighten some people on the issues of equality, gender, and such. My new project is going slow as always, progress is never easy. I was able to do a book cover for my first novel, but I’m seriously wondering if I should hire an artist. Nicoy seems like a good candidate. I just love her work! Actually, I’m still trying to pay off all my credit card bills, not to mention health insurance is ridiculously overpriced. The healthcare in America is tragic indeed. The only state I loved was California and their healthcare system…by the way, I’m missing Burbank already. Sigh. One of these days, no matter how long it takes me, I’ll return to my lovely state. And this time, I won’t be leaving her behind for good.

What’s funny now is I’m making less money than I did years ago with the same job. So, I may be looking for another job soon, a second job. You’d be surprised how many people I know have two or three jobs right now just to pay off their bills. One friend of mine has two part-time jobs just to make a full-time job. It’s crazy now! Another told me that they have a full-time job and a part-time job… and is thinking of getting a third job just to make ends meet. That’s unbelievable, but that’s the sign of the times we live in. No company is hiring full-time workers. I can only be thankful I even have one job (even if it’s less pay). At least I still have a roof over my head. Thank God! It could’ve been a lot worse for me.

Sigh...

Don’t expect me to be the angry feminist, folks. I just want equal rights for everyone. I believe men and women, regardless of race and skin color should be treated equally. That’s all I really believe in.

LALALALALA!!!!!

Oh yeah! The Walking Dead Show was amazing last week Sunday. Michonne was there for almost an entire episode and she actually talked too! Yay! I can’t wait to see some more Rick and Michonne action––they do make a good fighting pair, especially with Carl (Rick’s son). Carl would make a great future leader someday, seeing as he can handle himself. He’s still just a child for Pete’s sake, so I’m hoping he grows up soon. Those zombies keep popping up.

The actor who plays Morgan is amazing! It’s a shame about what happened to him and I was so hoping he’d join Rick’s group by the end. After losing his wife and son, he just snapped and is now living alone. I guess everyone’s crazy in Zombie World Apocalypse. That’s just a fact of life, eh? I now can’t stand Andrea… she’s in love with the Governor. Are you kidding me? How could you leave Michonne over the Governor? How could you? 😐 Michonne saved your life. I so can’t wait for the Walking Dead this week. I’m so excited!

 

Leave a Reply

