To Write Or Not To Write. Plus, Other Random Topics.

Let me just think...

To write or not to write… that is the question, folks.

So, work’s going great so far. I’m always on my toes and it keeps me very busy. Still learning a lot of new things, but that’s the name of the game. I’ve been trying to write lately and progress is at a snail’s pace. My mind has been fried for weeks now. I’m already at the 200 page mark for the first part of my insane journey/project… I’m nowhere near to my goal as of yet. Trying so very hard to get to the 300-400 mark and it’s so not happening right now. I can’t seem to move past one section, which is a preface of some of the story’s themes.

I thought about having a section where I would discuss how I came up with The Gunslinger Flash Renegade, however, it seems kind of pointless to me. I dunno why… I’ve never been a fan of reading forewards (not forwards!), introductions, and prefaces. I always have a tendency to skip them completely and dive right into the story. To me, it’s like talking or bragging about my life story and how I came to be.  I like the simple preface I have now, which is just a page and a half.

It’s really my only good hook so far. It’s more about the character’s untimely demise in the story, per se, and it seems to fit in well. To me, it’s more like opening a can of worms, because there’s plenty of remaining questions that need to be answered. Some of them may be solved within the story and others will continue on to the possible sequels.

Although, I think I might be revealing too much, then again, I doubt it. No one knows this story better than me.  I don’t know why I keep thinking someone’s going to figure out the whole plot within the first page––I know I can do better than that! I still have some surprises left in me yet. Haven’t used up all my ideas, last time I checked. Maybe some readers might figure out the basic plot, but not the overall premise.

Evil smirk Muwhahahaha! They have no idea what’s in store for them!

...

If only I can stop rewriting that preface…

Another problem of mine is the timeline and how I’m going to structure everything. I’m getting a headache just thinking about it. Not to mention, past and present tenses… can’t figure out for the life of me which tense to keep it in. For now, I just said to hell with it and I write whatever I feel like. One chapter may be past tense and the other may be present. I really don’t give a damn right now.

Enough!All I want to do is finish this damn story!

My sister keeps asking me when I’m going to finish the sequel to Nightmarish Reality, and I keep putting it off. I wanted to insert an additional scene in the beginning that connects a scene from the first novel that some people may not have noticed before. I wasn’t going to focus on the main character, but a key character who happens to be involved somehow. It’ll be interesting how it plays out, adding another sense of creepiness to the story.

Last night of the Walking Dead show was full of surprises and suspenseful as always, but for all the wrong reasons.

Caution: Spoilers Ahead! 

Shocking

Seriously Andrea?! You just had to get yourself caught, didn’t you? So, who’s going to save you now? Let’s hope someone gets the word out fast and tells Michonne quick, because I really really want to see her kill the Governor. I mean it! I want the Governor to die already. Getting sick of him and his shenanigans.

I have heard that AMC has done the reversal of what was going to happen to Michonne. It was to be played out on either Maggie or Andrea. It looks like Andrea might be in some deep trouble here on in after seeing her in the torture chamber at the end of last night’s episode. Loyal fans of the Walking Dead comics have mentioned that Michonne, even though she is a well developed 3-dimensional character, is the only African-American woman who gets raped and tortured by the Governor, who is apparently Caucasian, if you didn’t know that already.

I can see why AMC didn’t want to follow the comic books and I think they were correct in that decision––they’re not touching Michonne with a 18 foot pole! Probably one of the biggest reasons why I won’t be reading the Walking Dead comics any time soon, no matter how many people tell me to read them and no matter how hard I try to read a few of them… I just can’t get into it, knowing Michonne’s real fate.

I do know for a fact that Michonne does eventually get her revenge on the Governor and tortures the crap out of him, but why Michonne? Why rape in the first place? I just don’t get it.

When it comes down to minorities, especially those who are strong, independent women… why the hell are they always getting raped and tortured to death?! I think I’ve mentioned this before in an older post, but I’ll say it again. Batman, Superman, and the Hulk never got ass raped. If they have gotten raped recently, please let me know, because I’d really like to buy myself a copy. If male comic book heroes start getting raped, I’ll surely pick up the Walking Dead comics and say “C’est la vie” That’s life. Shit happens.

Why is rape always associated with women, including violence? I guess that’s one of my pet peeves right now. It’s making me angry or passionate for a cause, which is a good thing, because I need that for my writing. I need fuel for the fire, baby!

Anyway, Michonne is still my favorite character, despite the fact she gets very few lines on the TV series. If they kill her off, AMC will have made a huge mistake. If Daryl dies too, it’s full blown war!

Noooo!

Leave a Reply

