Pacing Myself With The Revisions And Working On Backstories…

solazycantmove

I reached Chapter 27 and had to take a break. I may continue revising well throughout the night. But I have to go back and finish tweaking several major chapters. So far, rereading chapters 1-27 hasn’t been bad at all, except for some minor issues with backstory.

The backstories just need more work. I still feel like I’m rushing certain parts and I need to be extremely careful not to just skim through. I really do want to get them out of the way, but I don’t want it to become like a chore and suddenly get boring. If I do get bored, I may have to get rid of them completely.

I think certain chapters I’ll have no choice but to add something specific, in order to keep it interesting. I have to say that the dialogue is quite good. However, I’ve noticed I’m not the type of writer who likes to spend so much time on little details. I hate being bogged down with description after description. Other times, I feel like I’m telling way too much.

I hate repeating what a character is wearing over and over again… especially how they look, unless it’s absolutely necessary to the story. I care about the story, not what hairstyle a character has that particular day… Don’t get me wrong! I love writing descriptions when it comes to my favorite main characters. It’s just the minor characters I’m struggling to keep myself entertained with. I don’t want so much focus on them and slow down the entire plot to a snail crawl.

I like keeping a fast pace sometimes. It’s more interesting that way with all the twists and turns. Although, I may have to now and then seriously stop moving so quick to the point that it’s brain overload. Chapter 11 I had to split into two, because it was nearing 20 pages long. Now, some minor characters are more interesting than others. And then, we have the villains. Some villains are also more beloved than others.

I just have to take my time and make them seem as realistic as I can with flaws like everybody else. I think Ch 11 is about 5,000 words or so. Another thing, I’m trying to avoid is repetition, which is a horrible habit of mine. So far, I’ve been watching myself and cutting back on the redundancy. Don’t know how many times I’ve repeated myself in this one post right now.

Let’s see… I’ve got to go back to chapters 11, 12, 24, 25, 26, and 27. There are certain scenes that are kind of vague and I probably should give it another whirl at them. Gotta make them a little longer. It will depend on how I feel.

I have about 15 chapters left to edit and then I’ll go from there.

Leave a Reply

